top of page

Austin Schaeffer Prevails in Final Round of Illini Non-Wing Challenge at Southern Illinois Raceway

PC: 357Studios

By: Lucas Halbert- Grassroots Racing News

The PureMax Racing Oil HART Non-Wing Micro Series presented by EMi had seen Aiden Purdue dominate the first two night of the inaugural Illini Non-Wing Challenge, but Saturday night at Southern Illinois Raceway brought a different story.

Austin Schaffer entered the final night of the Illini Non-Wing Challenge at the Highbanks of SIR only 14 points behind Aiden Purdue.

Schaeffer, who started on the pole, would have to win and Purdue, who started fourth, would have to finish seventh or deeper for Schaeffer to take the inaugural Illini Non-Wing Challenge.

As the green flag dropped everyone was jockeying for position. A heavy rain shower at 4:30 in the afternoon had saturated the grounds and caused a heavy one lane race track most of the night.

The field was getting ready to complete its first lap when Tyler Rust got squirrelly. Rust would go up the racetrack causing Aiden Purdue hit his right rear. Purdue would flip violently, ending his night and his chances at becoming the inaugural Illini Non-Wing Challenge Champion.

After surviving a tough tricky track, Austin Schaeffer would lead all 25 laps to claim the Illini Non-Wing Challenge and his second career PureMax HART Non-Wing Series victory.

Jimmy Wells gained fourteen positions to earn the Vision 1 Composites Hard Charger Award.

Feature Results (25 Laps):

1. Austin Schaeffer, 2. Ben Browder, 3. Carson Short, 4. Scott Gretzmacher, 5. Jimmy Wells, 6. Charles Starnes Jr., 7. Alex Burgener, 8. Matthew Russell, 9. Zak Gorski, 10. Kole Kirkman, 11. Tyler McClerren, 12. Tyler Rust, 13. Darren Cole, 14. Logan Null, 15. Eastin Ashbrooke, 16. Colton Booten, 17. Blake Daniels, 18. Trey Schleicher, 19. Aiden Purdue, 20. Jackson McClain


bottom of page