top of page

Buddy Kofoid Makes it Four in a Row at I-44 Riverside Speedway

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma (3/27/2021)... When you look at the list of names that have won a POWRi National Midget race in 2021, it isn't very long. In fact, it only has one name on it, Michael "Buddy" Kofoid.

Buddy continued to display his talent on Saturday night by winning his fourth POWRi National Midget event in a row. He stated after his win on Friday, that he is chasing Logan Seavey's single-season POWRi National Midget win record of 12.

Kofoid's fourth win did not come easy, but he got the job done.

Brenham Crouch led the field to green with hometown kid Ryan Timms to his outside.

Crouch took an early lead as the battle for third began between reigning champion Jake Neuman, Buddy Kofoid, and Emerson Axsom. Neuman would retain the spot at the field began to sort itself out.

Crouch started to work his way into lap traffic just ten laps in. But, before he got too far into it, the first caution of the race came out for Trey Gropp stopped on the front straightaway. Before the caution flew, Kofoid was able to take away third from Jake Neuman.

At the halfway point, Crouch was still in the lead but Kofoid has slid Timms for second. Just as he began to set his sights on the leader a caution came out for Chance Morton and Kaylee Bryson.

Racing resumed, and Crouch faced pressure from Kofoid. With eleven to go, Buddy made his move. He threw a slider on Crouch to take the top spot.

Crouch then threw one back at his teammate in the next corner, but Kofoid drove around the outside of him.

Buddy struggled in lap traffic the night before, and tonight was no different. As he worked into it, Crouch began to close in with just five laps to go.

But Kofoid was able to separate himself from Crouch to stay undefeated in POWRi National Midget competition in 2021.

Brenham Crouch held on for 2nd while Emerson Axsom gained four spots to earn a podium finish. Trey Marcham was the hard charger of the race, driving 17th to 10th to earn a Top 10.

The final night of the 8th Annual Turnpike Challenge is tonight (Sunday) at Port City Raceway.

-Lucas Halbert

Feature Results (30 Laps):

1. (67) Buddy Kofoid, 2. (97) Brenham Crouch, 3. (15) Emerson Axsom, 4. (85T) Ryan Timms, 5. (3N) Jake Neuman, 6. (71K) Daison Pursley, 7. (72) Sam Johnson, 8. (08) Cannon McIntosh, 9. (01) Bryant Wiedeman, 10. (32) Trey Marcham, 11. (52) Blake Hahn, 12. (19M) Ethan Mitchell, 13. (86) Bret Crews, 14. (7U) Kyle Jones, 15. (49) Joe B Miller, 16. (91T) Tyler Thomas, 17. (21) Emilio Hoover, 18. (27BJ) Jake Bubak, 19. (7M) Chance Morton, 20. (9E) Caden Englehart, 21. (71) Kaylee Bryson, 22. (10) Rees Moran, 23. (85) Jerry Coons Jr, 24. (21KS) Trey Gropp


bottom of page