top of page

Chase McDermand and Mounce/Stout Tame I-55 for First Career POWRi National Midget Win

Photo by POWRi Racing via Twitter

Written By: Lucas Halbert - Grassroots Racing News

Pevely, Missouri (4/16/2022)... Chase McDermand and Mounce/Stout Motorsports first teamed up with each other at the 2022 Chili Bowl Nationals. There they turned heads, making the Saturday night program, a program only the best of the best in motorsports make.

After a rough start to their outdoor season, McDermand and Mounce/Stout are right back on track after picking up their first career POWRi National Midget victory at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55.

Rain had drenched the Midwest in the later half of the week causing Friday night of racing to be cancelled. The rain had also created an unusually rough and rutted I-55 Raceway. This proved to be a challenge for the World of Outlaw Sprint Cars and the POWRi National Midget League.

However, McDermand and Mounce/Stout floated through the ruts in their heat race, going from fifth to first. That performance set them up to start second in the twenty-lap A-Main

Chase took the lead from the get go riding the rim with respect, and led the first fifteen laps till a caution struck with just five to go. Once racing resumed, three laps had clicked off and the white flag was then in Chase's view. It was for a moment, but then it wasn't as another caution flew.

McDermand saved his best restart for last and beat Joe B Miller to the line by just over half a second. The three-time Badger Midget champion became a first time POWRi National Midget winner in just his sixth series start.

Feature Results (20 Laps):

1. (40) Chase McDermand, 2. (51B) Joe B Miller, 3. (17) Tanner Berryhill, 4. (72) Sam Johnson, 5. (01) Bryant Wiedeman, 6. (97) Brenham Crouch, 7. (25K) Taylor Reimer, 8. (08) Cannon McIntosh, 9. (26) Chance Crum, 10. (67) Ryan Timms, 11. (83) Dominic Gorden, 12. (50) Daniel Adler, 13. (97K) Kaidon Brown, 14. (17B) Austin Barnhill, 15. (19AZ) Hayden Reinbold, 16. (77w) Joey Wirth, 17. (31B) Kyle Beilman, 18. (75) Bryan Stanfill, 19. (21K) Karter Sarff, 20. (17M) Devin Camfield, 21. (9M) Zach Daum, 22. (8J) A.J. Johnshon, 23. (7D) Michelle Decker


bottom of page