top of page

Larson Takes Night One of Indiana Midget Week

Photo by USAC Media via Twitter

Sprint Car or Midget, it doesn’t matter for Kyle Larson. He takes night one of USAC’s Indiana Midget Week at Paragon Speedway. The win on Tuesday night makes it 6 wins in a row for Larson between the All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars, and now the USAC National Midgets.

Paragon Speedway’s first USAC race since 1998 started out with Kyle Larson setting quick time and a new track record with a 14.831.

After having trouble in qualifying, Logan Seavey had to start dead last in the C-Main. Seavey did not have any trouble after qualifying and went on to win the C-Main. Jake Swanson, Ace McCarthy and Zeb Wise transferred out of the C-Main with Seavey.

In the B-Main, Seavey continued his trek from the C-Main to the A-Main and finished fourth. Chris Windom won the B-Main and brought Brady Bacon, Chase Johnson, Seavey, Rico Abreu, and Jake Neuman with him to the A-Main.

Pole-sitter Gio Scelzi was pressured the first third of the feature from Tanner Thorson. With 10 laps down Thorson threw a successful slider on Sclezi to take the lead.

Larson, after starting sixth, got around Scelzi for second a lap before halfway. Ricky Stenhouse Jr, didn’t let Scelzi settle into third long as he applied pressure immediately. At halfway the the top three were Thorson, Larson, and Scelzi.

With 9 laps to go a red flag was thrown for Scelzi, which allowed the leaders to get bunched up and Larson to get his shot at Thorson.

Larson puts a slider on Thorson in turns one and two and they make contact. Thorson gets Larson in the left front and maintains the lead with 6 to go.

The contact does not phase Larson as he comes charging back two laps later. Larson takes the diamond line into turns one and two. He gets a great run off of turn two and passes Thorson for the lead. Larson took off and never looked back to make it six wins in a row. It was also his first win running for Tucker-Boat Motorsports.

Thorson held on for second, Stenhouse Jr finished third for his first IMW race in 13 years. Chris Windom placed fourth and Justin Grant rounded out the top five. Logan Seavey had a busy night, trouble in qualifying left him starting last in the C-Main. He drove up to an eighth place finish in the feature to earn himself the Hard Charger award.

Night two of Indiana Midget Week is tomorrow night at Gas City I-69 Speedway. If you can’t make it too the track FloRacing has you covered on TV for live streaming. If you do not have FloRacing, Walkapedia on Twitter is a great source for quick updates throughout the night.

Feature Results (30 Laps):

1. (86) Kyle Larson, 2. (19) Tanner Thorson, 3. (17s) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., 4. (89) Chris Windom, 5. (4A) Justin Grant, 6. (35) Tanner Carrick, 7. (7BC) Tyler Courtney, 8. (19AZ) Logan Seavey, 9. (67) Buddy Kofoid, 10. (5) Kevin Thomas Jr, 11. (7x) Thomas Meseraull, 12. (67K) Rico Abreu, 13. (5D) Zach Daum, 14. (17w) Shane Golobic, 15. (3N) Jake Neuman, 16. (9) Daison Pursley, 17. (39BC) Cole Bodine, 18. (4B) Brady Bacon, 19. (08) Noah Gass, 20. (84) Gio Scelzi, 21. (82) Andrew Layser, 22. (25) Chase Johnson, 23. (25B) Steve Buckwalter, 24. (71K) Cannon McIntosh

B-Main Results: Top 6 Transfer

1. (89) Chris Winsom, 2. (4B) Brady Bacon, 3. (25) Chase Johnson, 4. (19AZ) Logan Seavey, 5. (67K) Rico Abreu, 6. (3N) Jake Neuman, 7. (98) Clinton Boyles, 8. (19m) Ethan Mitchell, 9. (2ND) Dave Darland, 10. (4J) Jadon Rogers, 11. (39BC) Cole Bodine, 12. (21KS) Jason McDougal, 13. (73T) Jake Swanson, 14. (97) Zeb Wise, 15. (7R) Ronnie Gardener, 16. (28) Ace McCarthy, 17. (2) Ryan Hall, 18. (57) Maria Cofer

C-Main Results: Top 4 Transfer

1. (19AZ) Logan Seavey, 2. (73T) Jake Swanson, 3. (28) Ace McCarthy, 4. (97) Zeb Wise, 5. (46) Russ Gamesterm 6. (82) Andrew Layser, 7. (71) Kaylee Bryson, 8. (73) Dylan Ito, 9. (15J) Jeff Wimmenauer, 10. (7m) Brody Roa, 11. (19A) Hayden Reinbold, 12. (21D) Justin Dickerson, 13. (97K) Max McLaughlin, 14. (3G) Kyle Cummins, 15. (4) Robert Dalby

Heat 1 Results: Top 4 Transfer to Feature

1. Justin Grant, 2. Kyle Larson, 3. Noah Gass, 4. Ricky Stenhouse Jr, 5. Logan Seavey, 6. Clinton Boyles, 7. Max McLaughlin, 8. Cole Bodine, 9. Dylan Ito, 10. Jake Neuman, 11. Kaylee Bryson, 12. Hayden Reinbold

Heat 2 Results: Top 4 Transfer to Feature

1. Cannon McIntosh, 2. Tanner Thorson, 3. Shane Golobic, 4. Zach Daum, 5. Rico Abreu, 6. Dave Darland, 7. Kyle Cummins, 8. Robert Dalby, 9. Ethan Mitchell, 10. Ace McCarthy, 11. Brody Roa

Heat 3 Results: Top 4 Transfer to Feature

1. Tyler Courtney, 2. Steve Buckwalter, 3. Thomas Meseraull, 4. Buddy Kofoid, 5. Chris Windom 6. Brady Bacon, 7. Jason McDougal, 8. Ronnie Gardner, 9. Justin Dickerson, 10. Jake Swanson, 11. Russ Gamester

Heat 4 Results: Top 4 Transfer to Feature

1. Kevin Thomas Jr, 2. Tanner Carrick, 3. Gio Scelzi, 4. Daison Pursley, 5. Zeb Wise, 6. Jaden Rogers, 7. Ryan Hall, 8. Chase Johnson, 9. Maria Cofer, 10. Andrew Layser, 11. Jeff Wimmenauer

Qualifying Results:

1. Kyle Larson-14.813 (New Track Record), 2. Rico Abreu-15.089, 3. Buddy Kofoid-15.159, 4. Tanner Carrick-15.359, 5. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.-15.401, 6. Tanner Thorson-15.441, 7. Chris Windom-15.495, 8. Gio Scelzi-15.519, 9. Justin Grant-15.574, 10. Ethan Mitchell-15.744, 11. Brady Bacon-15.793, 12. Kevin Thomas-15.816, 13. Jake Neuman-15.816, 14. Shane Golobic-15.829, 15. Tyler Courtney-15.853, 16. Chase Johnson-15.878, 17. Noah Gass-15.894, 18. Cannon McIntosh-16.001, 19. Jason McDougal-16.022, 20. Ryan Hall-16.023, 21. Cole Bodine-16.077 22. Dave Darland-16.083, 23. Steve Buckwalter-16.097, 24. Jadon Rogers-16.130, 25. Clinton Boyles-16.162, 26. Zach Daum-16.198, 27. Ronnie Gardner-16.205, 28. Maria Cofer-16.236, 29. Dylan Ito-16.295, 30. Kyle Cummins-16.297, 31. Jake Swanson-16.316, 32. Daison Pursley-16.380, 33. Max McLaughlin-16.432, 34. Ace McCarthy-16.461, 35. Thomas Meseraull-16.504, 36. Andrew Layser-16.574, 37. Kaylee Bryson-16.599, 38. Robert Dalby-16.605, 39. Russ Gamester-16.654, 40. Jeff Wimmenauer-16.686, 41. Hayden Reinbold, 19A-16.833, 42. Brody Roa-16.942, 43. Justin Dickerson-17.181, 44. Shane Cottle-17.440, 45. Logan Seavey-NT; 46. Zeb Wise-NT.

12 views0 comments


bottom of page